New Member up North
  • Morning All
    I am in the process of owning a rhd 1965 haflinger (in bits) which I should have home here in about two weeks time.
    I will then have to start making her roadworthy I have a couple of queries as follow.

Do they all have diff locks if so how many ie center. 

Is there a good place to get a parts manual.

Is there anyone close to me that has one for me to take a look I'm in Dundee Tayside DD4

I'm new to this thanks 

Alan

• Hi Alan, All Haflingers have difflocks,  one in front axle and one in rear axle, you could try haflingertechnik for a parts manual ( Look on the Links Pages and click on haflingertechnik )  I see you have sent a message on contact us regarding joining the club, we will send out a membership form to you, once joined you will get a list of current members and you can see who is in your area, hope this info helps.  
    Regards Pete Elliott  ( Club Secretary )
  • Thanks for that Elliot

Alan
  • Hi Alan,

Welcome.....

You talk about getting "bits" home, How many bits exactly? More than about 5 will mean a lot of work trying to figure out where things go!

Good luck with the rebuild. We need photos, lots of photos!

John
    (Owner of Lurch - 1973 LWB)
  • Thanks John Ill add photos when I get her home.
    Alan
  • Thanks for that Barry Ill take a look :
  • Actually, the way things work on a Haflinger is as follows:-

It is rear wheel drive (2 wheel drive). - mainly for road use.
    Pull up a lever in the cab, it is four wheel drive (both front and rear wheels are driven by the engine).
    Pull up another lever and the rear differential is locked. (both rear wheels will turn even if one is in the air)
    Pull up another lever and the front differential is locked (both front wheels will turn even if one is in the air)

All are independent of each other except that if you don't have the 4 wheel drive locker pulled in, then locking the front differential is pointless!

John

• Hi Alan,